Fried Green Tomatoes

7 Aug

A church down the street from my house had their annual tomato sale last week. Local farmers got together and sold tons of red tomatoes and my favorite, green tomatoes. I bought 3 lbs for a whopping $2.75!!! So inexpensive and so worth it. Half of them are currently ripening on my windowsill and the other half were used to make fried green tomatoes! I got the recipe from a southern food magazine. My mom makes hers with breadcrumbs and milk, but I wanted to try this simple milk-less recipe.

 

Classic Fried Green Tomatoes

Ingredients– 4-6 green tomatoes, salt and pepper, cornmeal, vegetable oil

 

1.Slice the tomatoes into 1/4 – 1/2-inch slices.

2. Salt and pepper them to taste. (I also used Seasoned Salt)

3.Dip and completely cover in cornmeal.

4. Fry in hot grease or oil about 3 minutes or until golden on bottom. Gently turn and fry the other side.

 

5. TADA!

 

 

SO tasty! Eat them with your favorite dressing. I eat mine with ranch dressing others prefer theirs  with zesty sauce or marinara. To each his own ^_^

3 Responses to “Fried Green Tomatoes”

  1. Jihane @Sinful Sundays August 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    I was just watching “Fried Green Tomatoes” and was wondering where I could try some,lol. Yours look good!

  2. Devynn Rains August 27, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    nom nom om

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. p is for procrastination | Blah, blah, blog - August 15, 2011

    […] I made fried green tomatoes the other day. Don’t they look yum!? […]

Leave a Reply

