Cake Batter Krispy Cakes

25 Mar

A couple of weeks ago my roller derby team had a bake sale. Everyone signed up for the things I know how to bake-chocolate chip cookies, sugar cookies…so I decided to find a new recipe. I searched the blog, How Sweet It Is, and found a recipe for Cake Batter Crispy Treats. The pics on her blog looked yummy, the comments confirmed that they were yummy, ad the recipe was pretty simple so I went for it!

 

Ingredients-3 tablespoons butter, 1 10-ounce bag of mini marshmallows, 1/4 cup yellow cake mix, 6 cups rice krispies cereal, 1 1.75-ounce container of sprinkles

 

1.Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows.

 

 

2. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined.

 

3. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix.

4. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles. Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.

I made 2 batches with 2 different types of sprinkles. After they cooled I individually bagged all of them. They look all awesome, right?

 

I wish they tasted as good as they looked. The bf scarfed these things down, but I was not a fan. I found them hard and the cake batter too, raw? I know cake batter can’t be raw, but it tasted like straight up mix instead of blending well with the marshmallows. I’m sure  I did something wrong. Ah, well. I can’t always win with recipes. ^_^ For my next cooking adventure, I’d like to make a quiche! Anyone have a recipe?

One Response to “Cake Batter Krispy Cakes”

  1. Jihane @Sinful Sundays May 3, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I’ve been dying to make these ever since I saw them on Jessica’s blog. Yours do look adorable! I love the individual wrap!

Leave a Reply

